Seward Fire Department Achieves ISO Public Protection Classification of Class 3/3Y

November 04, 2019

The Seward Fire Department is proud to announce the City of Seward has completed its Public Protection Classification (PPC) evaluation by Insurance Services Office, Inc. and effective February 1, 2020, the City of Seward will have a PPC of Class 3/3Y. The split score reflects SMIC. Seward has improved from a rating of Class 4/4Y from our 2014 evaluation by increasing its overall score by 5.41 points. The ISO Schedule develops a PPC number on a relative scale from 1 to 10, with 1 being the very best and 10 representing less than minimum recognized fire protection. The Seward Fire Department is one of only 11 registered departments (out of 232) in the entire State of Alaska with an ISO Classification of 3 or lower. There are only two communities in Alaska with a Class 1 rating.

To Save a Life

August 31, 2019

The Seward Police Department’s Officer Morgan Woodard received the American Heart Association’s Heartsaver Hero Award in a presentation at Monday night’s council meeting. 

Seward Firefighters Earn 3 of 5 Awards at Alaska Fire Conference

October 03, 2016

Seward firefighters Lt. Jilian Chapman, Chief Eddie Athey, and Lt. Austin Chapman were presented with awards at the Alaska Fire Conference on September 24, 2016 in Fairbanks.  Each year a total of five awards are given at the statewide conference; this year Seward took home an unprecendented three of them.  

Seward Fire Gets Ladder Truck; Engine 3 Retires

June 10, 2016

Today Seward Fire Department retired Engine 3 after her many years of service to the community. We look forward to welcoming the newest member of the fleet, Truck 35, which will replace Engine 3 and should be here sometime the week of June 14. Thank you Engine 3 for your service and taking care of your crews. You will be missed as the last of the "Open Jumpseaters."  

2015 Award Recipients Announced

March 12, 2016

Our annual awards banquet is a night to gather with friends and family, and to recognize the best from within our ranks and in the community.  This year's Firefighter of the Year was Lt. Austin Chapman.  Awards were also given for Distinguished Service, Community Service, and more. Read about this year's award winners and see photos from the evening here.

1 / 1

Please reload

Seward Volunteer Fire Department

316 Fourth Avenue / PO Box 832

Seward, AK 99664

(907) 224-3445 - Station

(907) 224-8633 - Fax