top of page


March 12, 2016

Each January, volunteers cast their ballots for who they think is most deserving of "Firefighter of the Year," "Distinguished Service Award," and "Community Service Award" for the previous year.  The recipients are recognized in a formal banquet attended by friends, family, donors, and city leadership who support our mission throughout the year.


Lt. Austin Chapman was named 2015 Firefighter of the Year. As a member since 2000 and a firefighter since 1991, fellow firefighters cited his willingness to train the next generation and enthusiasm for special projects as reasons for his nomination. 


The 2015 Distinguished Service Award went to FF James Mitchell, who joined the department in 2014. FF Mitchell has shown incredible initiative around the station, and was one of the first to sign up for the initial attack crew during last year's Card Street Fire.


Seward resident Devin Loomis received the Community Service Award this year for his heroic efforts during a residential fire in summer 2015. His quick actions in evacuating residents and dousing the flames before fire personnel arrived saved the day.


Congratulations to ALL of this year's award winners - thank you for your service!

  • 2015 Firefighter of the Year

    • Lt. Austin Chapman

  • 2015 Distinguished Service Award

    • FF James Mitchell

  • 2015 Community Service Award

    • Devin Loomis

  • 2015 Most Training Hours

    • AC Sean Corrigan

  • 2015 Most Runs

    • Eng. Wally Corrigan

  • Top Recruiter Award

    • Eng. Terry Moon

  • Badges awarded for first year of service:

    • FF James Mitchell

    • FF Tyson Whiteid

  • Spirit of Christmas Award

    • Lt. Austin Chapman

  • Lt. Special Leadership Award

    • Lt. Jilian Chapman

  • 100+ Calls (376 total)

    • ​AC Sean Corrigan

    • Lt. Mike Vander Vegt

    • FF James Mitchell

  • 150+ calls (376 total)

    • Eng. Wally Corrigan

bottom of page